Home News Product Reviews Health & Fitness Features Healthy Eating
Football - 17. July 2017.

Netherlands and Denmark Pick up Wins in Euros Opening Matches

Norway 0 Netherlands 1

Van de Sanden heads only goal for Netherlands

Dutch dominate but keeper Hjelmseth impresses
21,732 crowd is Netherlands women's record
The Netherlands have had 18 shots to Norway's seven
Thursday: Netherlands v Denmark, Norway v Belgium




The opening match of the 2017 Euros Championships ended in The Netherlands defeating Norway 1-0 nil with a header from Van de Sanden


Netherlands coach Sarina Wiegman: "This performance against a top nation is really a breakthrough for us. We've proven to ourselves what we're capable of and that's a huge step. "It was a fanastic experience today, although we have done nothing yet. There was team work, there was fighting spirt and we also wanted to play good football - today all those ingredients were there. That's something to be proud of."

Norway coach Martin Sjögren: "The atmosphere was fantastic. When we arrived they did not boo us but even cheered us, so that was a great experience for the players."

Denmark 1-Belguim 0

Troelsgaard's early header earns Denmark victory
Belgium denied by woodwork in frenetic finale
Red Devils defeated on final tournament debut
Denmark claim ninth win in 11 meetings between sides
Thursday: Netherlands v Denmark, Norway v Belgium


Matches

Group stage (KO CET):
Sunday 16 July: Group A
Netherlands 1-0 Norway (Utrecht)
Denmark 1-0 Belgium (Doetinchem)

Monday 17 July: Group B
Italy v Russia (Rotterdam) 18:00
Germany v Sweden (Breda) 20:45

Tuesday 18 July: Group C
Austria v Switzerland (Deventer) 18:00
France v Iceland (Tilburg) 20:45

Wednesday 19 July: Group D
Spain v Portugal (Doetinchem) 18:00
England v Scotland (Utrecht) 20:45

Thursday 20 July: Group A
Norway v Belgium (Breda) 18:00
Netherlands v Denmark (Rotterdam) 20:45

Friday 21 July: Group B
Sweden v Russia (Deventer) 18:00
Germany v Italy (Tilburg) 20:45

Saturday 22 July: Group C
Iceland v Switzerland (Doetinchem) 18:00
France v Austria (Utrecht) 20:45

Sunday 23 July: Group D
Scotland v Portugal (Rotterdam) 18:00
England v Spain (Breda) 20:45

Monday 24 July: Group A
Belgium v Netherlands (Tilburg) 20:45
Norway v Denmark (Deventer) 20:45

Tuesday 25 July: Group B
Russia v Germany (Utrecht) 20:45
Sweden v Italy (Doetinchem) 20:45

Wednesday 26 July: Group C
Switzerland v France (Breda) 20:45
Iceland v Austria (Rotterdam) 20:45

Thursday 27 July: Group D
Portugal v England (Tilburg) 20:45
Scotland v Spain (Deventer) 20:45

Quarter-finals:
Saturday 29 July
Winner A v Runner-up B (QF1, Doetinchem) tbc
Winner B v Runner-up A (QF2, Rotterdam) tbc

Sunday 30 July
Winner C v Runner-up D (QF3, Tilburg) tbc
Winner D v Runner-up C (QF4, Deventer) tbc

Semi-finals:
Thursday 3 August
QF1 v QF4 (Enschede) tbc
QF2 v QF3 (Breda) tbc

Final:
Sunday 6 August (Enschede) 17:00

 

Thank you so much, if you tweet or share
UP
Have you read it?
Bassett named 24th Australian captain
Commonwealth Games Draws Confirmed
Please follow us