Home News Product Reviews Health & Fitness Features Healthy Eating


If it is not your content, try to search here:
Rugby - 09. February 2017.

Ireland Women’s Side Confirmed for Italy Encounter

Ireland Women's Head Coach Tom Tierney has named the Ireland Women's
side, sponsored by Aon, to take on their Italian counterparts on Sunday
at the Stadio Tommaso Fattori in L'Aquila.

There are two changes to the starting 15 that took to the field last
Friday against Scotland.

Elaine Anthony moves from the replacements to partner Marie-Louise
Reilly in the second row and in the backs, Hannah Tyrrell, who was
involved with the Ireland Women's 7s side last weekend at the Sydney 7s
comes into the side on the right-wing.
The front-row remains unchanged, with hooker Leah Lyons, partnered by
props Lindsay Peat and Ailis Egan.
Flankers Ciara Griffin and Claire Molloy will again join Captain Paula
Fitzpatrick, in the back-row.

Alisa Hughes, who won her first Ireland cap last week in Glasgow will
again partner Nora Stapleton at out-half.
Sene Naoupu and Jenny Murphy renew their centre partnership, with Alison
Miller and Tyrrell on the wings and Mairead Coyne at full-back.
There are also two changes in the replacements, as Ciara Cooney fills
the space vacated by Anthony, and Sophie Spence comes into the side as
cover for the back-row.
Speaking on the selection, Tierney said;
"It was a very tough encounter on Friday evening in Glasgow. The Scots
really put it up to us, and for the players to get that final score when
it really mattered, and to come away with the 5 points from such a tough
encounter is very pleasing
We've reviewed the performance against Scotland and the players are
aware of the areas that they need to improve on against Italy.
The nature of the Six Nations is that there's no easy games, so we'll
have to be really focused going into the game this Sunday.”
**Ireland Women v Italy, Sunday 12th Feb, 1.00pm (local time) / 12.00pm
(Irish time), Stadio Tommaso Fattori, L'Aquila (Live on RTE)**

1. Lindsay Peat (Railway Union / Leinster)
2. Leah Lyons (Highfield / Munster)
3. Ailis Egan (Old Belvedere / Leinster)
4. Elaine Anthony (Highfield / Munster)
5. Marie-Louise Reilly (Old Belvedere / Leinster)
6. Ciara Griffin (UL Bohemians / Munster)
7. Claire Molloy (Bristol / Connacht)
8. Paula Fitzpatrick (St. Mary's College / Leinster) Captain

9. Ailsa Hughes – (Railway Union / Leinster)
10. Nora Stapleton (Old Belvedere / Leinster)
11. Alison Miller (Old Belvedere / Connacht)
12. Sene Naoupu (Aylesford Bulls)
13. Jenny Murphy (Old Belvedere / Leinster)
14. Niamh Kavanagh (UL Bohemians / Munster)
15. Mairead Coyne (Galwegians / Connacht)
16. Jennie Finlay (Old Belvedere / Leinster)
17. Ilse Van Staden (Cooke / Ulster)
18. Ciara O Connor (Galwegians / Connacht)
19. Ciara Cooney (Railway Union / Leinster)
20. Sophie Spence (Old Belvedere / Leinster)
21. Mary Healy (Galwegians / Connacht)
22. Claire Mc Laughlin (Cooke / Ulster)
23. Eimear Considine (UL Bohemians / Munster)

Thank you so much, if you tweet or share
Have you read it?
Please follow us